S&S CSC 2023



Staffs & Shrops Comp Safari Championship 2023

Click here to view the CSC Overall League Table after Round 5
Click here to view the CSC League Table after Round 5 in Class Order

Click here to view the 2023 Baden Hall Overall Results – Round 1
Click here to view the 2023 Evesham Overall Results – Round 2
Click here to view the 2023 Stone Overall Results – Round 3
Click here to view the 2023 Green Hall Overall Results – Round 4
Click here to view the 2023 Shrewsbury Enduro Overall Results – Round 5

Click here to view the above event results in Class Order

Staffs & Shrops are pleased to bring you their Comp Safari Championship for a 12th year, and as in 2021 and 2022 this is a single club championship, meaning it is only open to members of Staffs & Shrops. This is due to changes brought in by Motorsport UK in 2020, and in turn means that all drivers and navigators will be allowed to enter using the Free of Charge RS Clubman Licence (or higher if they have it).

It is a competitive annual league of five OPEN events, with all rounds to count, held over a five month period including four one day and one two day event. Events will still be held as Safari Plus, allowing average speeds of up to 50mph, together with the provision of Motorsport UK Rescue and Recovery on site.

Past winners are:-

2022 – Peter Roberts (S&S)
2021 – Kevin Stubbs (S&S)
2019 – Kevin Stubbs (S&S)
2018 – Peter Roberts (S&S)
2017 – Ian Roberts (S&S)
2016 – Peter Roberts (S&S)
2015 – Peter Roberts (S&S)
2014 – Ian Roberts (S&S)
2013 – Kevin Stubbs (S&S)
2012 – Ian Roberts (S&S)
2011 – Jonathan Wilshaw (S&S)

There is a £70 registration fee, which goes towards the class trophies that are awarded at the annual S&S Dinner Dance, usually held the following February or March. Drivers who compete/marshal in three or more events also receive an award. All drivers must be registered before the second event, after which registration will close.

Please note that registered drivers will have priority booking over non-registered drivers for all rounds*, ie. they can book in for any event at any time, but those not registered will not be able to pre-book until a set date. Also, registered drivers will pay £10 less per event than those not registered*. Plus, any registered drivers that act as Clerk of Course or marshal an event will get their camping free of charge* in order to get some of the registration fee back.

Registration is limited to 60, and will open on Wednesday 1st March 2023. The members log in page is available HERE, and from this you can access the pre-booking pages for all events*.

The 2023 Calendar of Events:

Round 1Sunday 30th AprilBaden Hall - May Day InterclubS&S ORC
Round 2Sunday 11th JuneEvesham - Martin Gallis/Mick Gillett Memorial *S&S ORC
Round 3Sunday 23rd JulyStone - Valerie Gilbert MemorialS&S ORC
Round 4Sunday 27th AugustGreen HallS&S ORC
Round 5Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th SeptemberShrewsbury - Enduro CompS&S ORC

Please note that all events are subject to change.

* No aggressive tyres allowed – maximum of mud terrain.

Entry to all events is on a first come first served basis, and entries are open to # non registered drivers from the set dates noted below.

Round 1Baden HallOpen to non registered drivers from 7th April 2023
Round 2Evesham *Open to non registered drivers from 19th May 2023
Round 3StoneOpen to non registered drivers from 30th June 2023
Round 4Green HallOpen to non registered drivers from 11th August 2023
Round 5Shrewsbury EnduroOpen to non registered drivers from 8th September 2023

# Non registered drivers can be from any Motorsport UK registered clubs, including the ALRC, as the events are hosted by Staffordshire & Shropshire Off Road Club and run as OPEN events.

2023 S&S CSC Supplementary Regulations

It is important to read the Supp. Regs. above for the Interclub, together with the SR’s for each individual event, and can we remind drivers that all vehicles must comply with the Motorsport UK Blue Book. May we also bring your attention to the appendix to the SR’s issued by Motorsport UK below.

Appendix 1 – Race with Respect

Please note addendums to the published SR’s issued above are listed below:-

  • Item 7.1     Change of wording to “Championship Secretary: Jo Barnett – mobile; 07795 380557, e-mail; barnettjo95@gmail.com. 5a Beech Avenue, Rode Heath,  Stoke on Trent. ST7 3SH”.

The classes to be run are:

Class 1Independent Suspension - 4,600cc or more
Class 1aIndependent Suspension - 4,599cc or less
Class 2Coil Sprung Beam Axle - 4,000cc or more
Class 3Coil Sprung Beam Axle - 3,999cc or less
Class 4Coil Sprung Diesel - all engines
Class 5Leaf Sprung - all engines
Class 6Production Vehicles – all engines *
Class 7Two Wheel Drive – all engines
Class 8Sports Utility Task Vehicle (UTV) – all engines #

*   Entrants in Class 6 will be allowed at the discretion of the Scrutineer.
#   Entrants in Class 8 to MSA guidelines (ie. production vehicle).

Please consider helping any of the clubs in the running of the events, because valuable points can be earned if you cannot enter for any reason – from the CSC Supp. Regs; “For one round per driver (or one driver from a shared entry) officials points will be awarded as follows:- For the Clerk of Course of a championship round the number of points equal to their best scoring round of the championship season will be allocated. For a marshal of a championship round the number of points equal to half of their best scoring round of the championship season will be allocated”.

2023 Registered Drivers

Kevin Stubbs*12
Jeff Bazeley*13
Simon Cooper*14
Darryl Key*1a8
Nigel Allcock*49
Callum & Roger Edge*313
Tim Philpott*1a14
Mark Jacques*115
Sam Roberts*218
Matthew Booth*321
Phil Wood*322
Richard Keasey*127
Richard Caswell*329
Michael Bazeley*232
Paul & Kyle Shore*233
Mark & Ross Walker*834
Paul Simons*243
Bill Hewitson*644
Dave Harlow*247
Luke Forrester*1a51
Martin Smith*259
Paul Rowlands*860
Peter Roberts*162
Jasmine Philpott*1a63
Tim Simon*166
Bethany Bull*269
Stephen Bowen*371
Mark Allard*373
Colin Davies*474
Steve Cobbold*375
Ethan Alves*376
Lewis Simon*1a77
Robert Dilwyn Davies*1a82
Jonathan Simpson*286
Simon Rood*8101
Jack Barley*8106
Grant Mitchell Smith*1117
Tom Smith*7120
Jake Burgess*2122
Jake Smith*7127
Chris Aldridge*3141
Michael Barclay*2142
Stuart Winter*1147
Mark Woodhouse*3161
Jason Rowlands*8165
Ashley Short*1a169
John Walsh*4184
Michael Cunningham*3188
Allana Burgess*2221
Dan & Ian Gibbons*8263
Tim Padfield*4313
Donna Fern*8317
Martin Robinson*4345
Matthew Hall*8442
Ian Gregg*8445
John Hewitson*4767
Guy Fernihough*1808
Dean Hoskins*3844
Jason Stanway*2886
Mike Hannak*1991


Motorsport UK Championship Permit No. CH2023/CC003 (D)

Updated 25th July 2023